Tero Program

Tribal Employment Rights Ordinance Program

Pursuant to its mission to eliminate discrimination, the FPST Tribal Employment Rights Office (TERO) strives to maximize employment opportunities and to enforce Title VII of the Civil Rights Act, as amended; Title I of the Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA), and special preference rights of Indians.

The TERO Office provides support to the Tribe in our efforts to identify, remedy, and eliminate, through Tribal Ordinance, unlawful employment discrimination occurring within the boundaries of the Fallon Paiute-Shoshone Reservation/Colony/Tribal lands and properties.

As a sovereign entity with all the powers and responsibility of all local governments, the Fallon Paiute-Shoshone Tribe has TERO laws which affect all employers operating on or near the reservation.

The TERO Concept of Indian Self-Government

The TERO concept begins with individualized economic development through the gainful and meaningful employment of Indian workers. This is accomplished by utilizing the inherent sovereignty of the Tribes to develop and enforce a TERO Ordinance, which preserves and protects the Tribe’s right to preferential employment, training, and business opportunities within the exterior boundaries of the Reservation. Utilizing the Tribe’s powers of exclusion and existing Federal Indian laws, the Tribes can capture existing opportunities currently available to Indian workers but being monopolized by non-Indians. The concept recognizes Tribal employment rights as sovereign and protected, much like water, mineral, hunting and fishing rights.

Our Location:

565 Rio Vista Drive
Fallon, NV 89406

Phone: (775) 423-6075 ext. 232
Fax: (775) 423-5202

Ordinance of the Governing Body of the Fallon Paiute-Shoshone Tribe

Tribal Employment Rights Ordinance (TERO)

Section 3: Indian Preference in Employment

“All covered employers for all employment occurring within the exterior boundaries of the Fallon Paiute-Shoshone Reservation shall give preference to qualified Indians with the first preference to Tribal Members in all hiring, promotion, training, layoffs and all other aspects of employment. Such employers shall comply with the rules, regulations, guidelines, and orders of the Fallon Paiute-Shoshone Tribal Employment Rights Commission, which set forth the specific obligations of employers in regard to Indian preference and Tribal Indian preference priority as follows:
  • Tribal members (this means any enrolled member of the Fallon Paiute-Shoshone Reservation)
  • Local Indians Supporting Tribal members (this means any member of a Federally-recognized Tribe who resides within the exterior boundaries of the Fallon Paiute-Shoshone Tribe supporting a member of the Fallon Paiute-Shoshone Tribe)
  • Local Indians (this means any member of a Federally-recognized Tribe who resides within the exterior boundaries of the Fallon Paiute-Shoshone Reservation)
  • Indians from surrounding communities (this means all non-local Indians who are members from any federally-recognized Tribe)

These requirements shall apply to any direct employment by the Fallon Paiute-Shoshone Tribe or by the Federal, State, or other Governments or their subdivisions. It shall also apply to all contractors or grantees of such Governments and to all commercial enterprises operated by such Governments.”

Please make sure you completely fill out the FPST TERO Application before returning it to our office along with other documents that may verify eligibility for preference and job qualification. If it is not complete, you will receive a letter requesting the missing information and you may not be referred until this information is received. Thank you.

Meet Our Staff Members